Web Summit 2016

This November we visited Web Summit — probably the most important conference in IT world. Just the numbers: 3 days, hundreds of startups, more than 50000 attendees. This days Lisbon has been changed — you could meet a person with “attendee” badge on his jacket everywhere.

20161106_162851 20161110_213259

This is how it looks like from cableway.

20161107_171109

Every day there were new booths from new startupers. In addition to the booths were a lot of all sorts of activities — lectures, presentations, competitions, and even test drive of BWM i3. It was almost impossible to visit everything. And for those that was not enough, it was a night summit — the pub crowling in specially reserved bars, where people could talk informally over a beer.

20161108_133902

You could see here different kind of attendees — from small start-ups to the Internet giants. But I can not say that I saw at the conference something special, some kind of a breakthrough in technology: just another yet social networks, new messengers and bots for them, the website and mobile application constructors, SaaS-services, blockchain-services and, of course, the Internet of Things.

20161108_165955 20161110_170234 20161108_163052

For those who are tired — the ability to eat or taste the Portuguese wine! That’s really who really earned a lot of money at this conference — the Web Summit team and fast food companies. The cheapest ticket for the conference cost 350 euros, a hot dog — 5 euros, a bottle of water — 2 euros!

20161110_154416 20161108_114717 20161108_163937

Our goal was to get acquainted not only with the new technologies, but also with new partners.

20161110_130452

Of course, we were not the only ones who offer outsourcing services for the development of this conference — there were big studios from India, South America, USA and, of course, Russia. Overall — the Web Sumiit conference is more for managers than for programmers. Nevertheless, I believe the trip productive and optimistic about the 2017 th year — now there are new contacts you want to convert into projects.

Web Summit 2016

В ноябре нам удалось посетить Web Summit 2016 — мероприятие, которое позиционируется как главное событие в IT мире. Сухие цифры: 3 дня, 1000+ стартапов, 50000+ участников. В эти дни Лиссабон преобразился — сойдя с трапа самолета, можно было повсюду увидеть логотип конференции и людей с бэйджами участников.

20161106_162851 20161110_213259

А так выглядят павильоны с высоты канатной дороги.

20161107_171109

Стенды стартапов обновлялись каждый день. Помимо стендов было очень много всевозможных активностей — лекции, презентации, конкурсы и даже тест-драйв от BWM. Успеть посетить все — практически не реально. А для тех, кому и этого мало, был еще night summit в специально зарезервированных барах, где можно было пообщаться в неформальной обстановке за кружкой пива.

20161108_133902

Состав участников весьма разношерстный — от мелких стартапов до интернет-гигантов. Но не могу сказать, что я увидел на конференции что-то особенное, какой-то прорыв в технологиях: очередные узкоспециализированные соц. сети, новые мессенджеры и боты для них, конструкторы сайтов и приложений, SaaS-сервисы, blockchain-сервисы и, конечно же, интернет вещей.

20161108_165955 20161110_170234 20161108_163052

Для тех кто устал — возможность подкрепиться или продегустировать португальское вино! Вот уж кто точно заработал на этой конференции — организаторы и фаст фуд. Самый дешевый билет на конференцию стоил от 350 евро, хот-дог — 5 евро, бутылка воды — 2 евро!

20161110_154416 20161108_114717 20161108_163937

Наша цель была познакомиться не только с новыми технологиями, но и с новыми партнерами.

20161110_130452

Конечно же, мы были не единственными, кто предлагает услуги по аутсорс разработке на этой конференции — были крупные студии из Индии, Южной Америки, США и, конечно же, России. В целом — конференция больше для маркетологов и руководителей, нежели для программистов. Тем не менее, я считаю поездку продуктивной и с оптимизмом смотрю на 2017-й год — теперь есть новые контакты, которые необходимо конвертировать в проекты.